2017 HappyBet German Darts Open Draw

2017 HappyBet German Darts Open Draw
Photo : PDC Europe

The draw for the HappyBet German Darts Open has been made for this weekend’s (Friday 21st through and including Sunday 23rd April 2017) in the next European Tour event.

The tournament, to be held at the Saarlandhalle in Saarbrucken, sees 48 players competing for £135,000 in total prize money.

It all kicks off today (Friday) and it is a chance to see some of the qualifiers in the early sessions and to give it a German flavour for the home fans, Thursday night saw four players coming through the German Qualifiers who undoubtedly will create a partisan atmosphere and showcase the local darting talents. Add to the mix eight other European qualifiers and it will certainly give the tournament a truly diverse field.

One of the most glamorous opening first round ties pits the mercurial Meryvn King against Robbie Green, who has just celebrated becoming a Grandfather again; with the latter out to make a mark as he has battled with a persistent injury problems over the last few months.

The resurgent Paul Nicholson battles comes up against one of the qualifiers, Martin Schindler who has made inroads on the circuit this season, so it looks sure to be a test for both players as their contrasting styles go head to head.

History will also be created when 16 year old German, Nico Blum takes to the oche, as he becomes the youngest player to compete on the European tour after seeing off Marko Puls in the last qualifying round. He will face Josh Payne it what will be a baptism of fire for the youngster.
Dimitri van den Bergh and Vincent van der Voort also qualified with both players being real crowd favourites and sure to ignite the atmosphere. Van der Voort is up against Dirk van Duijvenbode, another qualifier, whilst Van den Bergh faces stalwart of the stage Andy Hamilton.

The 16 seeded players based on ranking points will join the tournament on Saturday to really ignite proceedings. Sunday will play out the full day, starting with the third round in the afternoon session before breaking, then drawing to a crescendo with quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in the evening session. All matches will be the best of 11 legs.

Schedule of Play – HappyBet German Darts Open

Friday April 21 – First Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

Marko Kantele v Warrick Scheffer
Peter Jacques v Darren Webster
Jamie Bain v Krzysztof Ratajski
Steve Lennon v Christian Kist
Mark Walsh v Jimmy Henriks
Rene Berndt v Adam Hunt
John Henderson v James Richardson
Bernd Roith v Brian Woods

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)

Nathan Aspinall v Robert Thornton
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Andy Hamilton
Mervyn King v Robbie Green
Paul Nicholson v Martin Schindler
Jeffrey de Graaf v Rob Cross
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Vincent van der Voort
Nico Blum v Josh Payne
Zoran Lerchbacher v Ronny Huybrechts

Saturday April 22 – Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

Stephen Bunting v Roith/Woods
Ian White v Kantele/Scheffer
Gerwyn Price v Henderson/Richardson
Steve West v Berndt/Hunt
Kim Huybrechts v King/Green
Michael Smith v De Graaf/Cross
Alan Norris v Van den Bergh/Hamilton
Simon Whitlock v Jacques/Webster

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)

Cristo Reyes v  Blum/Payne
Joe Cullen v Van Duijvenbode/Van der Voort
Benito van de Pas v Nicholson/Schindler
Michael van Gerwen v Lerchbacher/R Huybrechts
Mensur Suljovic v Walsh/Hendriks
Peter Wright v Bain/Ratajski
Jelle Klaasen v Lennon/Kist
Dave Chisnall v Aspinall/Thornton

Sunday April 23
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

Third Round x8
Played in Draw Bracket order

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)

Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals, Final
Played in Draw Bracket order


Austrian Darts OpenWiener NeustadtJustin PipeJames Wade6-3
German Darts ChampionshipBerlinPhil TaylorDave Chisnall6-2
European Darts OpenDusseldorfRaymond van BarneveldDave Chisnall6-4
German Darts MastersSindelfingenAdrian LewisIan White6-3
Dutch Darts MastersNulandSimon WhitlockPaul Nicholson6-1
UK MastersButlins MineheadJohn PartStuart Kellett6-4
European Darts TrophySindelfingenWes NewtonPaul Nicholson6-5
European Darts OpenDusseldorfMichael van GerwenSimon Whitlock6-2
Austrian Darts OpenWiener NeustadtMichael van GerwenMervyn King6-3
Gibraltar Darts TrophyGibraltarPhil TaylorJamie Lewis6-1
German Darts ChampionshipHildesheimDave ChisnallPeter Wright6-2
German Darts MastersSindelfingenSteve BeatonMervyn King6-5
Dutch Darts MastersVeldhovenKim HuybrechtsBrendan Dolan6-3
German Darts ChampionshipHildesheimGary AndersonJustin Pipe6-5
Dutch Darts MastersVeldhovenMichael van GerwenMervyn King6-4
German Darts MastersBerlinPhil TaylorMichael van Gerwen6-4
Austrian Darts OpenSalzburgVincent van der VoortJamie Caven6-5
Gibraltar Darts TrophyGibraltarJames WadeSteve Beaton6-4
European Darts OpenDusseldorfPeter WrightSimon Whitlock6-2
European Darts Grand PrixSindelfingenMervyn KingMichael Smith6-5
European Darts TrophyLeipzigMichael SmithMichael van Gerwen6-5
German Darts ChampionshipHildesheimMichael van GerwenGary Anderson6-2
Gibraltar Darts TrophyGibraltarMichael van GerwenTerry Jenkins6-3
German Darts MastersMunichMichael van GerwenJohn Henderson6-5
Dutch Darts MastersVenrayMichael van GerwenJustin Pipe6-0
International Darts OpenRiesaMichael SmithBenito van de Pas6-3
European Darts OpenDusseldorfRobert ThorntonKim Huybrechts6-2
European Darts TrophyMuelheimMichael SmithMichael van Gerwen6-2
European Darts MatchplayInnsbruckMichael van GerwenDave Chisnall6-4
European Darts Grand PrixSindelfingenKim HuybrechtsPeter Wright6-5
Dutch Darts MastersVenrayMichael van GerwenDaryl Gurney6-2
Germany Darts MastersMunichMichael van GerwenPeter Wright6-4
Peperami Gibraltar Darts TrophyGibraltarMichael van GerwenDave Chisnall6-2
HappyBet European Darts MatchplayHamburgJames WadeDave Chisnall6-5
Austrian Darts OpenViennaPhil TaylorMichael Smith6-4
European Darts OpenDusseldorfMichael van GerwenPeter Wright6-5
International Darts OpenRiesaMensur SuljovicKim Huybrechts6-5
European Darts TrophyMuelheimMichael van GerwenMensur Suljovic6-5
European Darts Grand PrixSindelfingenMichael van GerwenPeter Wright6-2
German Darts ChampionshipHildesheimAlan NorrisJelle Klaasen6-5
German Darts ChampionshipHildesheimPeter WrightMichael van Gerwen6-3
German Darts MastersJenaMichael van GerwenJelle Klaasen6-2
Previous articleThe Resurrection of Dave Chisnall
Next article2017 HappyBet German Darts Open – Day One Report

Dave started writing about darts when he arranged a meeting with his local newspaper editor to complain about the lack of darts coverage in the paper. He started submitting weekly articles and he soon became a regular feature on the sports pages. Over the last twelve months he started writing for Tungsten Stories, Darts Weekly Magazine and a handful of football fanzines. Dave is happy to talk all things darts and Everton FC to anyone who will listen.